Saturday Slowdown

Hi friends,

Its an absolutely gorgeous spring weekend in Boston! After work last night, I met friends out last night at The Gourmet Dumpling House in Chinatown. It was a great start to the weekend (restaurant recap to come).

When I woke up this morning, I immediately began thinking of my “weekend chores ” that I would have to get done this morning, they are usually

  • Long gym workout
  • Grocery shopping
  • Errands (pharmacy, dry cleaner, etc)
  • Cleaning
  • Social obligation (child’s birthday party, bridal shower, etc)

And after a few minutes of thinking….I realized I had nothing to do. All errands were done. No need for groceries. Apartment still clean after friend’s visit last weekend. Its too beautiful out to be inside a gym. Coming off a LONG week at work, this thought was absolutely delicious. Instead of immediately kicking myself into high gear (as I usually do on Saturday mornings), I lazed around, read magazines, rocked out to Pandora and strolled to meet a friend for coffee (hey, walking is exercise!).

Hello, pretty day

We ended up at Flour Bakery.I got this beauty.

Roasted tomato, pesto, mozzarella parcel, Iced Coffee, Side of Shadow
Insides, all roasted tomato-y pesto-y

I ate about 3/4 of this and then my friend and I strolled around the neighborhood; stopping to finish our coffees and gossip in the local park. Delightful. My savory pastry is sitting a bit heavy (I typically shy away from breakfast pastries, sweet or savory for this reason) – so I’m not sure what’s on the menu for lunch; but it most likely will be a repeat of yesterday’s salad:

I love spring vegetables
  • Lightly Steamed Asparagus
  • Thinly sliced Prosciutto
  • Sprinkle of Gorgonzola cheese
  • Bed of Arugula, dressed with lemon juice and black pepper

Yum.

I’m currently lounging around a bit more, not sure what I’m going to do later (love that). For right now, I’m just glad I have time to stop and smell the roses today (ok, tulips 🙂 )

I am so punny

What’s your favorite Saturday morning activity? Slothful or otherwise?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Run Sarah says:

    I love sloth-like weekend activities – a few hours to relax and rejuvenate and do nothing is glorious. Definitely did that yesterday and this afternoon!

    1. I love it! We all need more weekends like that!

  2. Jen says:

    Did you tiptoe through those tulips? And who was this “friend” you met for lunch at Flour? Some other South End Sassafrass? I thought I was your only South End friend!

Leave a Reply

