Day One: Salad?

Hello!

After months of reading blogs and participating in blog world, I decided it was time to start my own! I’m looking forward to sharing my eats, my recipes and any other observations of my city life!

Ok, onto the FOOD! My first official meal on a blog called “your kind of salad” is….pasta!

After playing Wii Fit with my girlfriends all afternoon; I was about to gnaw my newly Wii-ed arm off.

Enter, an easy and FAST pasta toss:

Eggplant, Artichoke & Broccolini Pasta

Eggplant, Artichoke & Broccolini Pasta:

2oz brown rice pasta*
olive oil (enough to coat the pan)
1 clove of garlic, chopped
1/2 eggplant, cubed
1 small bunch of broccolini, chopped
1/2 cup of frozen or canned quartered Artichokes (not in oil)
1 tsp dried oregano + 1 tsp dried basil (or fresh if you have them)
Salt+Pepper
Zest of 1/2 lemon
Parmesan cheese

Put on a small pot of water to boil. Once your water boils, add your pasta, and a dash of salt, let cook for about 11 minutes. While the pasta is cooking; set a separate saucepan over medium high heat. Add a drizzle of olive oil to the pan, and once the pan is hot, add your chopped garlic, sautee lightly. Then add your eggplant, broccolini and artichokes, sautee until soft (about 10 minutes). Add your herbs and salt and pepper. At this point; you may want to add 1/4 cup of vegetable stock (or water) to deglaze the pan. Drain your pasta (it should be al dente), and add to your saucepan. Mix your veggies with pasta together until pasta is thoroughly coated. Divide into bowls, zesting lemon and a sprinkle of parm over each serving

*Why brown rice pasta you ask? I like to experiment with all types of grains; but whole wheat pasta would work just as well!

Enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz says:

    sounds good, I can’t wait for all my health and tasty lunchboxes! you are my kind of salad! keep blogging!

  2. Jen says:

    Although it is only Day 1 of Salad – I have a feeling I will be a loyal reader (and poster).

Leave a Reply

